Port Orford is a tiny town but it has a cool old house and an old lighthouse. The Hughes House is listed in the national register of historic places. It is a Victorian house constructed in 1898 using old growth cedar. The Hughes family raised over 100 cows. They made butter and sold to the San Francisco area. The couple built the house as their retirement house but sadly Mr. Hughes passed away several years later.
The fireplace in the formal parlor burned coal to showcase their status. But the well used men’s cave used wood in the fireplace. It has a bathroom adjacent to the modest master bedroom. The bathroom has a vanity with its original marble and faucets, an original claw-footed bathtub, and a toilet. The house has indoor plumbing. Water came down from the hill and was heated by the stove in the kitchen and stored in a container. When the faucet was turned on, hot water came out because of the gravity. That was a very smart design back in the 19th century. The kitchen has a cast iron wood cook stove. The oven has 7 settings. There is a bread maker, too. Another noticeable feature is a small chapel on the second floor. The best room in the house is the spacious guest room.
We saw the beacon of light shone from the lantern room of the Cape Blanco Lighthouse. It started its operation in 1870 and is the only working lighthouse in Oregon. It was a cloudy and very cool day in summer. So the seascape was not very attractive. We saw some odd shaped rocks standing in the bay area. Some people flew radio controlled planes and sliders. There were a couple of people fishing by the beach. Don’t know what they can get.
One more thing about Port Orford is that no mosquitos nor bugs in the woods. Surprise!